By browsing on our website, you are agreeing to our cookies policy.


The Cyprus Shipping Chamber (CSC), hosted the closed session of its 31st annual general meeting online on August 31, at which only its member-companies participated.

Following close consultation between the relevant/responsible government authorities and the maritime private sector, the Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Shipping announced that Cyprus has been chosen and awarded as a location (in the Limassol Moni anchorage) for the layup of currently six technically advanced cruise ships by one of the world’s leading cruise vessel operators, under the support of a local maritime provider.

The Cyprus Shipping Deputy Ministry has announced that, based on the outcome of the US Government’s 2019 Annual Report on Port State Control; Cyprus is no longer part of the Targeted Flag List of the United States Coastguard (USCG) in relation to the safety performance of flag administrations.

The three-year average detention ratio of Cyprus for the period 2017-2019 was 0,96 percent compared to an average USCG ratio of 1,08 percent. In 2019, the annual detention ratio of Cyprus ships was reduced to 0,55 percent, down from 1,79 percent in 2018, while the USCG’s 2019 ratio was 1,12 percent.

This enhanced track record is the result of a comprehensive National Shipping Strategy, which the Shipping Deputy Ministry has been implementing since its inception in order to cement its position as one of the world’s top flag administrations and as a leading shipping cluster.

Whilst from a practical point of view, this may lead to fewer inspections for Cyprus vessels at US ports, it adds to the flag’s status as a high-quality flag which is consistently part of the ‘white lists’ of the Paris and Tokyo MoU’s.

Cyprus Shipping recently achieved the successful prolongation of the Cyprus Shipping Taxation System for another 10 years by the European Commission, which had been submitted for official approval on 6 November 06, 2019.

The Cyprus Shipping Chamber (CSC) participated at the Senior Maritime Conference held between December 02-05, 2019, in Shanghai, China, with the presence of its president, Philippos Philis.

The European Community Shipowners’ Associations (ECSA), representing the national shipowners’ associations of the European Union, held a board of directors meeting on October 04 in Brussels, where Themis Papadopoulos, president, Cyprus Shipping Chamber and Thomas A. Kazakos, represented the Cyprus Shipping Industry as part of the Cyprus delegation.